SIGCD642 Cover FINAL.jpg

'Anna Lapwood draws from her youthful forces well-judged readings that are characterised by evenness of tone and genuine beauty of sound.'

Philip Reed - Choir & Organ *****

''…there's real control evident in the blend (built upwards from some impressive low basses) and tuning… it showcases the choir brilliantly and smuggles a lot of contemporary music on to a recording with real mainstream appeal.' 

Alexandra Coghlan - Gramophone

'[the] choir is as up-to-date as any first-rate modern ensemble… the singing is excellent throughout… intonation, ensemble technique, and balances, especially bass/soprano in the mixed choir, are a joy to experience.'

David Vernier - Classics Today

'the singing is fresh and clear, the aural equivalent of pure water… The choral sound is fresh, light and clear.'

John Quinn - MusicWeb International

Track Listing

  1. All Things are Quite Silent  Trad. arr. Kerry Andrew

  2. Jesus Christ the Apple Tree  Elizabeth Poston 

  3. O Nata Lux  Anna Lapwood

  4. In the Stillness  Sally Beamish

  5. Into Thy Hands  Jonathan Dove

  6. Media Vita  Kerensa Briggs 

  7. And the Swallow  Caroline Shaw

  8. The Water of Tyne  Elizabeth Poston

  9. Iustorum Animae  Matthew Martin

  10. Peace I Leave with You  Amy Beach

  11. Grandmother Moon  Eleanor Daley

  12. Ave Maria  Rebecca Clarke

  13. Upon Your Heart  Eleanor Daley

  14. Agnus Dei  Imogen Holst

  15. Mother of God  John Tavener

  16. Abendlied  Josef Rheinberger

  17. Sing to the Moon  Laura Mvula 

 It's so exciting to share “All Things Are Quite Silent”, the debut album from The Choirs of Pembroke College, Cambridge, and for me as a conductor. We recorded it just a year after the Pembroke Girls’ Choir was founded and it’s a testament to their musicianship and hard work in that short period; they joined the hugely talented Chapel Choir from Pembroke College for this recording project. We chose the repertoire collectively to showcase some excellent but lesser-known and previously unrecorded repertoire alongside some more well-known, much-loved music. It was also really exciting, if a little nerve-wracking, to record one of my own compositions for the first time! A high proportion of the tracks are written by female composers and it’s a collection of some of our favourite music. Our hope is that it will be heard and enjoyed by many, and performed by more and more choirs across the world.

Anna Lapwood, 2020

Composer Interviews